Rhino Charge

Rhino Charge 2024 - 1st June 2024

  • 00Days
  • 00Hours
  • 00Minutes
  • 00Seconds

Rhino Charge 2015 Results Released

Finally the Rhino Charge 2015 distance-related results are out. As announced at Prize giving on 1st June 2015, further reconciliation and analysis of the GPS data was required this year to provide the distance-related results. The processing of the GPS data has now been successfully concluded and the results are ready.

The event was won by Mark Glen (Team 48) in Car 48 with a distance of 32.051 km. Second was Sean Avery (Team Bundufundi) in Car 38 with a distance of 32.289 km. The third position went to Manee Choda (Team Ole Choda) in Car 06 with a distance of 32.423 km.

The Rhino Charge 2015 raised KES 108,617,802, in keeping with the above KES 100 million mark broken for the second time in the 27-year history of the Rhino Charge. This beats last year’s figure of KES 102 and the previous year’s figure of KES 90 million.

The top three fundraisers for this year were Car 5 – Alan McKittrick (KES 7,595,979), Car 23 – Peter Kinyua (KES 5,620,000), and Car 35 – Mark Tilbury (KES 4,546,925). Funds raised by each team is provided here.

Winner of the most prestigious Victor Ludorum – highest fundraiser and best placed by formula – was won by Alan McKittrick in Car 5. Alan McKittrick’s team remains the highest fundraiser for 13 years in a row. Last year, Car 5 raised KES 7,236,768 slightly below this year’s figure. Since Car 5 entered the Charge in 1989, the team has raised a staggering amount of KES 116,073,282.

The exciting Rhino Charge event lived up to expectation for the entrants who were flagged off at 7:30 am from the spread of guard posts scattered through the rugged rock strewn hills and gulleys of Kalepo (Namunyak Conservancy).

In a tough contest at the Gauntlet, James Boorman (Team 53) in Car 53 took the first position with a distance of 2.90 km. Second position was a tie between Gray Cullen (The Smiling Shenzies) in Car 22 and Jaspal Matharu (Fat Rhinos) in Car 24 both with a distance of 2.92 km.

The modified vehicles category was won by by Mark Glen in Car 48. Peter Castle (Team The Dik-Diks) in Car 39 won the unmodified category coming 15th overall with a distance of 38.543 km.

Best placed overseas entrant was Peter Castle in Car 39 placed 15th overall in the event. Petra Somen (Team Bushbabes) in Car 19 was awarded the Coupe Des Dames award.

The Tiger Line (Vineyard – Hardi) was won by Brandon Barbour (Team Car 57) in Car 57 covering a distance of 1.119 km. Tiger Line (Brookhouse – Greensteds) was won by Tony Hughes (Team Hoozie) in Car 33 covering a distance of 5.629 km.


Leave a Reply